The First Day of the Rest of My Life

One of my Dad’s favorite quotes was. “Today is the first day of the rest of your life.”  And today is for me.  Almost reluctantly, I am joining the world of blogging to document my journey.  If I have done so correctly, I have made this a private blog for now.  I will likely change that setting once I get some time in.  For now, I need a secret place to document my journey for myself.  Ultimately, perhaps this blog will become something more than it is today.  But today it is a secret place under a secret name where I can try to be honest with myself.  I would like this blog to be a place where I can document my goals, and ways I would like to get there, and my thoughts and feelings along the way.  My main goal is to be the best person I can be!  I would like to start living in a more healthy way: physically, mentally, and spiritually.  I want to use basic steps:  eating better, drinking lots of water, exercising (mainly yoga and walking), getting more sleep (7-8 hours per night), promoting my mental and spiritual health (living in the moment, staying present), generally taking better care of myself.  I want to do all these things so I can be a better “me” and so I can be a better wife and mother.  I want to go back to the basics so to speak.  Another main goal I have which I think will help with the above general goals is to give up alcohol for now and maybe forever.  So at times, this blog may be about my efforts not to drink.  It may become a lot about that depending on how hard it is to not drink wine!  I am really not sure where this will go or how this will turn out.  People who know me generally think I am a really good person, and I generally am.  But I have lots of room for improvement.  My husband is so supportive of me trying to accomplish my goals and my 3 kids love me unconditionally.  My family is huge motivation for me right now.  We have so many good memories already, and so many more good times ahead of us, but I need to take better care of myself and my precious family unit too.  I also need to love myself more and be there for myself more and cheer myself on – hence this blog.  Today is the first day of the rest of my life!  Here I go, on my way, with my chosen blog name – VIATODAY.       

Leave a Reply

