Preserving the Momentum in June

I love this post so much from Soberistas today I need to attach the link so I can easily access it this month.  This post is so motivating.  http://soberistas.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/get-set-ready-go-6-steps-to-reaching-your-alcohol-free-goal/#comments.

This line jumped out at me:  “[T]here are reasons, and good ones at that, for taking a stand and opting out of the booze trap. Now all you need to do is make sure you don’t forget those reasons next time you feel tempted to have a drink…”

I am at Day 22 alcohol-free, and I am feeling really good.  I lost a few pounds, not much because I have been treating myself to a lot of sugar.

I have been trying to incorporate more exercise into my routine.  I love yoga!  Last night, I made it to a Monday night yoga class.  I came home and had a mug of tea.  My husband and I had a great conversation.  I slept so soundly.

I am working on also trying to be present with my husband and kids and extra patient. The extreme irritability of the first weeks of not drinking any wine has mostly worn off.   Sometimes it creeps up and I need to recognize it and handle it though.  But every day is getting better!

Really all is pretty good at home and I am grateful for that!  I feel like I am in a state of self-reflection and self-improvement and my family is going to benefit from this.  I have realized in the last few months that I really need to slow down, make my circle smaller, make my life simpler, and focus on myself a bit more.  I also need to not be hard on myself for doing this but proud of myself.  SELF:  It is OK to focus on myself right now!  I have to keep reminding myself of this.

Everyone in my family is healthy.  The kids are doing well in school.  10 days until summer vacation!  We have our summer plans made – all good stuff – baseball, camp, trips to see grandparents.

This morning’s walk to school with the kids was great.  It is a beautiful June day – mid-70’s not a cloud in the sky.  It is Tuesday, usually my most productive day.  I am getting things done.  I even felt like posting here!

(It’s a good thing this blog is private so far because if I had any readers, they would be 1) disappointed in the lapses of time between posts; and 2) probably really bored!)

I am feeling really scattered at times – it probably shows in my jumping around in these posts!  Even though I don’t post much myself, I am spending a LOT of time reading blogs and the BFB and sometimes feel guilty about how much time I am on my computer during the day.  But hey, I am at 22 days of not drinking so I should give myself a break about that – it is working!

In writing, my life sounds pretty boring, but I really think this is going to be the best summer in years – alcohol free!

I know it is not going to be easy so I need to keep my momentum and motivation.  I need to have my answers ready!   These tips are terrific.  Thanks Soberistas!

Remarkably, I think I have the not-drinking-wine-at-home thing handled.  It surprises me so much!  I thought it would take longer than 21 days!  I drink sparkling water or some kind of bubbly refreshment out of my stemless wine glass and it takes the edge off.  The craving for wine at night is almost totally gone!  My husband has been great (without me even asking) about keeping the wine downstairs and mostly out of my sight.

The weekends have been and are going to continue to be tough!  I live in a great place with lots of opportunities for summer drinks.  I am not naive about how hard it is not to drink in social settings.

I have to tell myself to remember my theme – Viatoday – I am on my way, one day at a time!  I have to tell myself on those nights I am tempted to remember how great I will feel in the morning.

I am on Day 22 and my math brain is kicking in and having fun with the numbers!  Hey, I am more than 1/5 to 100.  On Friday, I will be at Day 25 – 1/4 to 100!  Yahoo!

I can’t let my guard down though.  I know I need to arm and protect myself if I am going to do this. I want to get to 100 Days, then 180 days, then 200, then 250, then 300, 1 year, and then not counting anymore.  I simply want to be a person who does not drink.  I imagine my kids in 20 years telling their friends, “Oh my Mom doesn’t drink.”  I like that!

It is still very early though.  And I know I am going to need these tips, my 100 Day challenge, and all that I read on BFB and sobriety blogs as well as the lovely voices of the Bubble Hour this summer and during our vacations to keep me going!

And I seem to have discovered how to make paragraphs on this blog!  I am sure future readers will appreciate that . . .  if I ever change the setting and let in the online community in!  You can tell I am struggling with this decision of public blogging.  I really want to hear the supportive comments but I am also afraid to just open myself up to the world.   I am not a shy person but for some reason with this I am.   And I am self-conscious here, which I am usually not with others.  In real life, I know how to show confidence and a brave face even if on the inside I am feeling totally the opposite.

But I also know if it was not for sobriety blogs and the motivation they provided, I would not have accomplished all that I have since May 12, 2014.  So thank you to those bloggers who ever may read this.  I know you will understand my decision to keep it private initially and will be so supportive if I change the settings.  You are so kind and non-judgmental!

And I know I am probably going to need to be a bit more open and  honest with myself here too about the not so good experiences that led me to this decision . . . so I don’t forget!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Preserving the Momentum in June

  1. I’m glad someone else wonders if they’re spending too much time on the computer! I’m off work for the summer and have plans to get my house in order, yet I find myself reading blogs for hours at a time. But when else will I have this concentrated period of time to figure things out? Might as well take advantage of it and not feel guilty about being unproductive. I’m on Day 158 of Belle’s 180 day challenge. I love Belle, and I love HONY, too!

  2. You have to be getting pretty close to 180 now! Yes, I do still worry about too much time on the computer. But I am also allowing myself to be of the thinking that if something is working, go with it! The online support has been so instrumental in getting me to Day 74, where I am today! I started to listen to Mrs. D on the Bubble Hour last night and I am going to finish that episode tonight as a Friday treat!

Leave a Reply

