Day 100

Today is my Day 100.  I am excited and have now pledged to do 180 Days!  It has not been easy but I did it.  For those of you thinking about it, Belle’s 100 Day Challenge (http://tiredofthinkingaboutdrinking.wordpress.com) really can work!  Most of my daily emails to Belle were short one-liners but today deserved a lot more to be said.  So I decided to also convert it to a blog post.  Here is the my 100 Day email I just sent to Belle:

“Alcohol Free today 8/20/14 – Day 100! Thank you so much Belle! There were many times I was tempted but having made my 100 Day pledge got me through a lot of days, because I am a person who really does like to keep my commitments. It actually makes me smile that this worked! Having pledged to you, a stranger across the world, a written emailed promise, to not drink for 100 Days, and then to email you every day to say, ‘Yes, I am still alcohol free’ really made me feel accountable and kept me from drinking in so many tempting moments. So here I am at Day 100! I have gotten through an entire summer and lots of events and vacations without drinking; I don’t think this would have had happened without this 100 Day Challenge. And I have learned that I do not need alcohol to have fun or to make me feel better in times of stress or sadness. Alcohol really does not help. I am deciding to live alcohol free for a while and maybe forever, but I am simply going to take it one day at a time. I got to Day 100 and now I will go for 180. I am clear-headed and determined and proud of myself for making a decision for myself! And I feel really good! I still have a lot of work to do on my personal goals. I guess I realized also that I can’t blame drinking wine for all of my problems. My house is still cluttered; I would like to be more punctual; I would like to become a morning person instead of a night owl; I would like to not be such a procrastinator; I would like to reduce my online time; manage my time better and get more sleep every night. I guess I thought wine caused me to do all these things but I still do them 🙂 But removing alcohol from my life is going to really help with all of these goals and more! I am a work in progress as we all are. But I have accomplished a lot and would like to keep going. At the Day 100 mark, I am more calm, patient, and present with those in my life. I appreciate the simple things in life so much more. I am living more in the moment and not worrying so much about tomorrow.

So yes I would like to do 180 Days. Here is my pledge tailored to my own thoughts and the moments most challenging for me: I’ve done 100 days alcohol free, and I know my life is better. It’s not always easy, but I am moving in the right direction. I’d like to continue going in that direction. And I’d like to see what happens next. I will not drink for 180 days … not even if my husband, family or friends drink, not if I am going to a wonderful party, not if I get bad news about my health, nor if a family emergency occurs. No matter what. Because I want to see what happens next. And as every day passes, I am realizing I don’t need alcohol to have fun or to make me feel better in times of stress or sadness. I am realizing I like living alcohol free. Via51214”

To add a bit more, every morning when I wake up I think, “Today is the first day of the rest of my life.”   I have mentioned this often as the theme of this blog.  I am “on my way” today – Viatoday.

3 thoughts on “Day 100

  1. And now you must be on Day 101! I’m back at Day 2, but I’m giving it another go, and you really help and inspire me. Annie x

  2. CONGRATS to you on your 100 days~ Belle is wonderful, isn’t she? I too thank Belle or I wouldn’t be on this journey! I look forward to your 180 day post. Best Wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

