Lord Grant Me The Serenity

“Lord, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I cannot accept; and the wisdom to know the difference between the two.”

I have loved The Serenity Prayer since I was 12 years old.  This is the version I remember.  And I remember buying a plaque of it and hanging it on my bedroom wall in 7th Grade.

My best friend (still my best friend to this day) loved and still loves the prayer “Footprints in the Sand.”  I loved and still love “The Serenity Prayer.”  We would talk about them both, and appreciate each other’s fondness for these prayers.

At some point in early adulthood, I learned that The Serenity Prayer is said as part of AA.   I remember thinking that this makes a lot of sense.  It is a prayer that makes so much sense in general; and I can see where it wold be appealing in AA.

The Serenity Prayer has been a part of my life since I was 12 years old.  Today, I wanted to say it here because I do really need to pray today for the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.

6 thoughts on “Lord Grant Me The Serenity

  1. When I first started this sobriety journey I was vehemently opposed to AA. I was sure they were a cult. Dangerous. Brainwashes.

    Well, I was wrong. Lol. They are people just like me. Trying to find a way to live a happy life.

    The serenity prayer is my favourite part of meetings. I have struggled for years with anxiety and depression. Reciting that prayer helps me put things into perspective and let go of things that aren’t mine to control.
    It sounds simple, but that step of letting go has been the most significant change in my life. It helped me stop fighting for things to be my way. To let them just be.

    Relief.

    • You’re welcome! Hey, I thought of you fondly yesterday when Belle mentioned you in her blog. (I read it yesterday at least). Did you see it? I did not know that origin of the Mallards name! I’ve caught up on your blog and hope you’re doing better after your medical scare with your eyes. You’re doing great avoiding a drink during difficult times.

  2. I have heard the serenity prayer lots of times, but oddly have never applied it to me. Your post has really made me think about it. I hope you’re ok – are you ok? Annie x

    • Thanks Annie. I am OK, yes. Thank you for asking. I could not bring myself to write about it specifically in the entry but yesterday was the birthday of a loved one who died almost two years ago. I miss him dearly. I kept coming back to the prayer because I really need to somehow accept that he is not here physically any more. But it has been hard. And October 7 will never be the same for me.

Leave a Reply

